Difference between Class 2 and Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates

Difference between Class 2 and Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates

Difference between Class 2 and Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates


Difference between Class 2 and Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates. … In this day and age of technology, physical signatures are increasingly being … Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates are needed for e-tendering,

In this day and age of technology, physical signatures are increasingly being converted to digital media for security reasons. Digital Signature Certificates, (DSC) are simply the electronic equivalent of physical or paper certificates such as identity proofs, drivers licenses, passports or PAN cards. The Biz Solution These certificates can prove to be helpful for many online transactions that require digital proof of identities and to receive and send information on the web safely.

Now, most companies (especially Gorganizationstions/departments, PSUs, and even private companies) floating tenders mandate submission of response online through digital signature certificates. Tenders might require class 2 digital signature and class 3 digital signature certificates for e-Tendering. (You can determine the exact type of digital signature certificates required the Department of floating the company concerned e-tender.

Organizations and firms, today require digital signature certificate to better facilitate communication and transactions between them and the Ministry of Corporate Affairs. For companies that have a turnover of more than INR 60 Lakhs have to apply for these certifications mandatorily, and it is considered a legally admissible instrument. Besides, it is always wise to get a digital signature as it offers a high level of security for online transactions by ensuring absolute privacy of the information exchanged.

These certificates can also be useful for encrypting information that only the intended recipient can have access to. You can digitally sign information to assure the recipient that it has not been changed in transit, and also verify your identity as the sender of the message.

There are two main types of Digital Signature Certificates  Class 2 Certificates and Class 3 Digital Signature Certificate. A Class 2 Digital Signature Certificate is used by individuals and is available for download after verification based on a trusted and pre-verified database. A Class 3 Digital Signature Certificate, on the other hand, is of the highest level as it is issued only after the registrants identity verification has been carried out by a Registration Authority.

Class 2 Digital Signature Certificates are generally used for filing documents Income Tax, Registrar of Companies and VAT, whereas Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates are needed for e-tendering,The Biz Solution which is a procurement process that is conducted online. The aspects where this comes into play include:

Class 3 Digital Signature Certificate provides the highest level of assurance or trust within the RCAI hierarchy setup of CCA ( Controller of Certifying Authorities) in India. which is mainly used for e tendering and e procurement. Class 3 Digital Signature are issued to Individuals or Organizations. They are especially used to authenticate the identity of the vendors as well as buyers in any e-Tendering, e-Procurement and e-Bidding process.

Types of Class 3 Signing Digital Signature Certificates

A) Signing – Individual Individual.
B) Signing – Individual with Organization Name.

e Tendering and e procurement portals where Class 3 Digital Signature is used.

See the Whole Class 3 Digital Signature Products compare the price of class 3 dsc – 

  1. Class 3 Digital Signature Only Sign for individual 
  2. Class 3 Digital Signature Only Sign for Organization
  3. Class 3 Digital Signature Sign With Encryption for individual 
  4. Class 3 Digital Signature Sign With Encryption for Organization

Leave a Reply